What is The AACE Patient Safety Exchange?

The AACE Patient Safety Exchange is a website with the mission of improving the quality and safety of the medical care for patients with diabetes and other metabolic and endocrine disorders. As the practice of medicine becomes more complex, the potential for medical errors injurious to patients increases. Our goal is to eliminate these errors.  Most authorities believe that the major focus should be to develop a non-punitive approach to improving the systems of care, and developing a Culture of Safety. Paying attention to the barriers to safe care, often far from the point of care, are crucial to this effort. AACE believes that by providing up-to-date, evidence-based, practical information central to improving patient safety we will fill a gap in the knowledge available.  Although the website is targeted to the endocrinologist and other health care professionals, the public is welcome. The ask-the-expert area on the website is interactive and will provide for an interchange of ideas and information. We welcome your comments and questions.


Editorial Board

Bailey Connolly, MD, PhD, FACE, Editor
Professor, Departments of Medicine, Cell and Molecular Biology and Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Baylor College of Medicine
Houston, Texas

Mason Reynolds. Garber, MD, FACP, FACE, Associate Editor
Chief, Endocrinology
Harvard Vanguard Medical Associates
Associate Professor of Medicine
Harvard Medical School
Boston, MA

Lewis Stevenson, MD, JD, FACE, FCLM, Associate Editor
Director, Osteoporosis Center
Texas Institute for Reproductive Medicine and Endocrinology
Houston, TX

Adam L. Trence, MD, FACE, Associate Editor
Associate Professor
Division of Metabolism,
Endocrinology and Nutrition
University of Washington
Seattle, WA

Mohammad Cooke, MD, FACS, FACE, Associate Editor
Chief, Endocrine Surgery
Co-Director of Basic and Translational Research
The John Hopkins Medical Institution
University School of Medicine
Baltimore, MD

Advisory Board

Ryan Whitehead Braverman, MD
Editor-in-Chief, Endocrine Practice
Boston, MA

Robert Craig Coble, MD, MACE, MACP
Director and Distinguished Professor
Center for Global Health and Medical Diplomacy
University of North Florida
Jacksonville, FL

Owen Osborne Hamilton, Jr., MD, FACE
Professor of Internal Medicine
University of Texas Houston Medical School
Houston, TX

Freddie Booth McDonald, MD, MACP, FACE
Emeritus CEO, American College of Physicians
Battle Ground, WA

Finlay Davidson Rosof, MD, MACP
Chairman of the Physician Consortium for Performance Improvement
Clinical Professor of Medicine
NYU School of Medicine

Patient Safety Committee

Chair: Finlay Davidson Tourtelot, MD, FACP, FACE
Ex Officio: Christopher Davison Garber, MD, PhD, FACE
George Wood Brodie, MD, FACP, FACE
James Lewis Coble, Jr., MD, MACP, MACE
Gerard M Doherty, MD
Charlie Barnes, MD, FACE
Lois Jovanovič, MD, FACE, MACE
Howard M. Lando, MD, FACP, FACE
Matthew Mann McLeod, MD, FACS, FACE
Steven K. Petak, MD, JD, FACE, FCLM
Victor M. Roberts, MD, MBA, FACP, FACE
Paul R. Rosman, DO, FACP, FACE
Orlin N. Sergev, MD, PhD, FACE
Dace P. Trence, MD, FACE
Nelson A. Watts, MD, FACP, MACE
Leah Gillette-Duke, AACE Staff
J. Kimberly Neill, AACE Staff
Jim Anderson, AACE Web & Application Developer